Raphaël SCHWARTZ
Январь 4, 2019
Lasar SEGALL
Январь 4, 2019

Симон СеГАЛ

БЕЛОСТОК (ПОЛЬША) 1898 – АРКАШОН (ФРАНЦИЯ) 1969

Симон Сегал родился в обеспеченной буржуазной семье в Белостоке. Начал карьеру инженера в России. Заинтересовался изобразительным искусством. В 1918 году, прервав инженерное образование, Сегал уехал из России и отправился в Берлин, где оставался до 1924 года. Общался с писателями и художниками, соби- равшимися вокруг поэтов Маяковского и Есенина, и авангардного журнала «Сполохи». В 1925 году Сегал обосновался в Париже и занимал- ся всем, кроме живописи. Имел несколько источников приработка: библиотекарь, рабочий на заводе Ситроен и стилист у Поля Пуарэ, для которого создал серию кукол.

В 1926 году Симон отправился в Тулон и снова начал писать. Познакомился с Брюно Бассано, военным-социалистом, сосланным Муссолини и основавшим резиденцию художников «Трезубец». Бассано под- держивал Сегала и стал его маршаном. Вернувшись в Париж в 1933 году, Сегал посещал Le Dôme, La Rotonde, La Coupole. В 1935 году представил три- дцать гуашей в галерее Бийе-Вормс. В день размещения выставки все картины были куплены американским коллекцио- нером Франком Альтшулем. В начале Второй мировой войны Сегал решил пойти в армию. Ему отказали в приёме, и он уехал в свободную зону в Обюссон, где женился и познакомился с Жаном Люрса. Вскоре он был вынужден укрыться на ферме и смог достать поддель- ные документы. После окончания войны жил в Жобуре, рядом с мысом Хаг.

С 1946 по 1953 год он много писал и встретил мецената Анри Бернарди, с которым его связала крепкая дружба. В этот период он создал эскизы для восемнадцати шпалер, изготовленных в Обюссоне и на мануфактуре Гобеленов. В 1953 году вернулся в Париж. Было орга- низовано немало персональных выставок Сегала. В 1956 году он сделал иллюстрации к Библии для издательства Labergerie. В 1958 году Симон создал серию мозаик, изготовлен- ную бразильским мозаистом Антонио Карелли. В 1960-х годах он устроился в маленькой мастерской на Монмартре. В 1968 году закончил иллюстрации к «Апокалипсису», изданному издательством Kieffer в Париже. Сегал умер ночью 2 августа 1969 года. Его друг доктор Озенат похоронил его на кладбище Аркашона.

Simon SEGAL

BIALYSTOK (POLAND) 1898 – ARCACHON (FRANCE) 1969

Simon Segal was born into a well-off middle-class family in Bialystok. He started an engineering carreer in Russia before taking an interest in art. In 1918, he gave up his engineering studies and left Russia for Berlin, where he stayed until 1924. In Berlin, he spent time with writers and artists gathered around the poets Mayakovsky and Essenine and the avantgarde journal Spolokhi. In 1925, Segal settled in Paris and worked on everything but painting. He earned his living by working several small jobs: librarian, worker for Citroën, and designer for Paul Poiret, who asked him to produce a series of dolls.

In 1926, he stayed in Toulon and rediscovered the pleasure provided by painting. He met Bruno Bassano, a socialist activist exiled by Mussolini who founded the artists’ colony Trident. Bassano became Segal’s loyal supporter and patron. Back in Paris in 1933, Segal spent time on the terraces of the cafés Le Dôme, La Rotonde and La Coupole. In 1935, he exhibited thirty gouaches at the Billet-Worms gallery. On the day the paintings were hung in the gallery, the whole set of works was bought by the American collector Frank Altschul.

When World War II broke out, he volunteered to join the army. As the army turned him down, he left for Aubusson in the Zone Libre (free zone), where he got married and met Jean Lurçat. Shortly afterwards, he took refuge in a farm and obtained forged documents. Following the war, he settled in Jobourg on the Cherbourg peninsula. From 1946 to 1953, he lived happily, while working continuously and became friends with the patron Henri Bernardi. At that time, he made cartoons for eighteen tapestries made at Aubusson and the Gobelins. In 1953, he returned to Paris and had numerous solo exhibitions. He illustrated the Bible for the publisher Labergerie in 1956. In 1958, he created a series of mosaics produced by the Brazilian artist Antonio Carelli. From the 1960s, he settled in a small studio in Montmartre. In 1968, he completed the illustration of The Apocalypse, which was published by the bookstore Kieffer in Paris. He died in the night of August 2, 1969. His friend Dr Osenat had him buried in the cemetery in Arcachon.