Abraham ROSENBAUM
Январь 3, 2019
Savely SCHLEIFER
Январь 3, 2019

Иссахар РЫБАК

ЕЛИСАВЕТГРАД (УКРАИНА) 1897 – ПАРИЖ 1935

Рыбак родился в семье хасидов. В юном воз- расте покинул родительский дом. Посещал курсы рисования в родном городе, а в 1911–1916 годах учился в Киевской академии. Во время Революции 1917 года Центральный комитет еврейской куль- туры Киева заказал ему афиши для пропаганды и украшения улиц. Рыбак познакомился с Элем Лисицким. Благодаря финансовой помощи Еврейского общества этнографии и истории принял вместе с Элем Лисицким участие в экспедиции по украинским деревням и создал серию картин, изображающих еврейские кладбища и синагоги.

В 1918 году преподавал живопись в Москве. В 1921 году отправился в Берлин и опубликовал в сотрудниче- стве с еврейским поэтом Львом Квитко сказки для детей (Государственное издательство СССР), а также альбом с тридцатью литографиями Schtetel (1923 г.). В 1924 году создал альбом Des types juifs d’Ukraine, в котором смеша- лись кубизм и экспрессионизм. Альбом отобразил гроз- ную атмосферу Погрома. В Берлине Рыбак вступил в Novembergruppe и представил свои работы на выставке сецессиона. Создал гравюры в манере супрематизма для авангардного еврейского журнала «Альбатрос». В 1925 году Рыбак вернулся в Россию по приглаше- нию Еврейского театра Москвы, для которого создал декорации и костюмы к драме И.Л. Переца In Folisch Oyf Der Keit.

В 1925 году Рыбак создавал рисунки на сюже- ты из повседневной жизни еврейских поселений на Украине. Эти рисунки были опубликованы в 1926 году, когда он приехал в Париж. В 1928–1934 годах Рыбак выставлял свои работы в Европе: Париже, Гааге, Амстердаме, Брюсселе, Роттердаме, Антверпене, а также в Филадельфии. Его последняя выставка прошла в галерее Вильденштейн в Париже. Его работы хранятся в музее Иссахара Рыбака в Бат-Яме, в Израиле.

Issachar RYBACK

ELISABETHGRAD (UKRAINE) 1897 – PARIS 1935

Ryback was born into a Hassidic family and left his parents’ home at a young age. He took drawing classes in his hometown and studied at the Academy of Kiev between 1911 and 1916. When the revolution broke out in 1917, the central committee for Jewish culture in Kiev ordered propaganda posters and street decorations from him. At that time, he met El Lissitzky. Together with the latter, he participated in an expedition to Ukrainian villages, financed by the Jewish Society of Ethnography and History, whose purpose was to produce a series of paintings on Jewish cemeteries and synagogues. In 1918, he lived in Moscow where he taught painting.

In 1921, he left for Berlin. In collaboration with the Yiddish poet Leib Kvitko, he published stories for children (USSR state editions) and an album of thirty lithographs entitled Shtetl (1923). In 1924, he published the Jewish Types of Ukraine, an album reminiscent of Cubism and Expressionism that recounts the threatening atmosphere of a pogrom. In Berlin, he became a member of the Novembergruppe and exhibited his work at the Secession. At that time, he produced supremacist engravings for the Yiddish avant-garde journal Albatros.

In 1925, he was invited to return to Russia by the Jewish Theater in Moscow, and designed sets and costumes for I.L. Peretz’s play In Folisch Oyf Der Keit. The same year, he spent time in the Jewish agricultural colonies in Ukraine, where he produced drawings representing everyday life. These drawing were published when he arrived in Paris in 1926. Between 1928 and 1934, Ryback exhibited his work in Paris, The Hague, Amsterdam, Brussels, Rotterdam, Antwerp, and Philadelphia. His last exhibition took place at the Wildenstein gallery in Paris. His works are in the Issachar Ryback museum in Bat Yam, Israel.